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Section 34-14C-1 Definitions. 
 
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the following meanings: 
 
(1) BOARD.  The Board of Home Medical Equipment Services Providers as 

established by this chapter. 
(2) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT.  Medical devices usable in a residential 

setting, as defined in regulations established by the board. 
(3) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SERVICES.  The delivery, installation, 

maintenance, replacement of, or instruction in the use of medical 
equipment and related supplies used by a sick or disabled individual to 
allow that individual to obtain care or treatment and be maintained in a 
residential setting. 

(4) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SERVICES PROVIDER.  A corporation, 
other business entity, or person engaged in the business of providing 
home medical equipment services, either directly or through a contractual 
arrangement, to an unrelated sick or disabled individual in the residence of 
that individual.  (Act 2000-739, p. 1619, § 1.) 

 
HISTORY 

Effective date: 
     The act which added this chapter is effective August 1, 2000. 
 
 
Section 34-14C-2 Home Medical Equipment Services Providers Board. 
 
(a) Within 90 days of August 1, 2000, the Governor shall appoint a minimum of 

nine persons to serve on the Home Medical Equipment Services Providers, 
such persons to include a majority who are representatives of the home 
medical equipment services industry, and at least one person from each of 



the following categories:  A consumer of home medical equipment services, a 
physician, a representative from the acute-care hospital community, and a 
representative from the home health agency community.  Those persons 
representing the Home Medical Equipment Services Provider industry shall 
be selected from a list submitted by the Alabama Durable Medical Equipment 
Association or its successor.  Board members shall have no record of 
sanctions related to fraud under federal or state law.  The membership of the 
board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender, geographic, 
urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state. 

(b) The members appointed to the board shall serve for terms of three to five 
years, with one third of the board being replaced each year, beginning in year 
four.  The terms may be renewed for successive three-year periods. 

(c) Members of the board shall not be entitled to compensation for service, but 
shall be reimbursed for reasonable travel and meeting expenses, according 
to a budget developed and approved by the board. 

(d) The board shall have the responsibility for creating, establishing, maintaining, 
and enforcing regulations governing the operation of home medical 
equipment services providers, including the qualifications of inspectors, the 
nature of inspections, and the process for appeals. 

(5) Any vacancy on the board must be filled by the Governor within 60 days.  
If a vacancy occurs among those members who represent the home 
medical equipment services provider industry, the appointment shall be 
made from a list submitted by the Alabama Durable Medical Equipment 
Association or its successor.  (Act 2000-739, p. 1619, § 2.) 

 
HISTORY 

Effective date: 
     The act which added this chapter is effective August 1, 2000. 
 
Section 34-14C-3 Duties of the board; requirements of providers. 
 
(a) Through consultation with current members in good standing of the Alabama 

Durable Medical Equipment Association or its successor, the board shall 
adopt regulations that specify the medical equipment to be included in this 
chapter, set standards for the licensure of entities which provide home 
medical equipment services, and govern the safety and quality of home 
medical equipment service providers. 

(b) All home medical equipment services providers shall: 
(1) Comply with all applicable federal and state laws and regulations 

governing the safety of home medical equipment services provider 
facilities and delivery vehicles, the safety and quality of home medical 
equipment, and the safety, quality, and effectiveness of home medical 
equipment service procedures. 

(2) Comply with any additional standards and testing requirements, as duly 
promulgated by the board and required for licensure.  (Act 2000-739, p. 
1619, § 3.) 

 



HISTORY 
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Section 34-14C-4  Licensure; inspections. 
 
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a home medical equipment 

services provider shall be licensed annually by the board before the provider 
may engage in the provision of home medical equipment services.  In 
Alabama, when a single business entity provides home medical equipment 
services from more than one location within the state, each such location 
shall be required to obtain a license on its own merit.  Out-of-state home 
medical equipment services providers are not required to maintain a physical 
location in state; however, out-of-state applicants must provide a physical 
location meeting requirements of Section 473-X-4-.01, Subsection a-f, 
Alabama Administrative Code, or its successors, and may be subject to 
inspection by the board.   

(b) A license applicant shall submit the application for licensing or renewal to the 
board on a form promulgated and required by the board.  In-state and out-of-
state applicants shall pay a reasonable nonrefundable fee established by the 
board at the time the application is submitted.  The board shall have the 
authority to set reasonable fees for in-state and out-of-state applicants to 
obtain a license.  The license to engage in providing home medical 
equipment services shall be effective upon written notification from the board 
that the applicant meets the standards and has complied with all 
requirements for licensing. 

(c) Accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Community Health Accreditation Program, or other 
accrediting entities shall not be substituted for compliance with this chapter.   

(d) Licenses Issued pursuant to this chapter expire on the anniversary date of 
the original license unless renewed for an additional one-year period. 

(e) Home medical equipment service providers who, upon initial inspection are 
found not to comply with applicable licensing standards, may be issued a 
provisional license valid for six months.  The board shall advise the provider 
of the areas of noncompliance contemporaneous with the issuance of the 
provisional license, and shall reinspect the provider for compliance between 
four and six months after the provisional license is issued upon application 
and payment of a reasonable inspection fee established by the board of up to 
one hundred fifty dollars ($150). 

(f) Except as provided in this chapter, the board shall inspect all license 
applicants to determine compliance with the requirements of this chapter 
prior to the issuance of a license. 

(g) The board may conduct random inspections upon application for renewal of a 
license, for a cause, and as necessary to ensure the integrity and 
effectiveness of the licensing process. 



(h) Employees, contractors, or inspectors of the board may conduct inspections 
of out-of-state facilities upon application from out-of-state applicants for 
licensure and renewal.  Travel allowances, as allowed by the Alabama Ethics 
Commission, shall be provided by the out-of-state applicant for all inspections 
conducted at the physical out-of-state location. 

(i) At any time upon the filing of a substantive, relevant complaint of a consumer 
of services or other qualified source as identified by the board, the board may 
inspect the operations of the provider to determine compliance with the 
requirements of this chapter. 

(j) The board shall adopt and maintain standards for the individuals charged 
with conducting the inspections for the purpose of determining compliance 
with the requirements of this chapter.  Board employees or contractors may 
be authorized to conduct inspections.  Out-of-state inspections shall be 
limited to no more than two employees, contractors, or inspectors of the 
board per visit. 

(k) Upon notice of a failure to pass an inspection and obtain a license, a provider 
shall have 30 days to appeal the inspection results or be subject to penalties 
pursuant to Section 34-14C-6.  Upon appeal, a provider shall have the right 
to an inspection review of a new inspection in accordance with procedures 
promulgated by the board.  (Act 2000-739, p. 1619, § 4; Act 2004-441,§ 1.) 
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Amendment notes:   
The 2004 amendment, effective August 1, 2004 
  
§ 34-14C-4.1.  Inspection fees. 
The Board of Home Medical Equipment Services Providers may establish by 
rule, and charge and collect, reasonable inspection fees pursuant to the Alabama 
Administrative procedures Act.  (Act 2002-95, p. 308, § 3.) 
 
    HISTORY 
 
Effective date:   
The act which added this section is effective February 27, 2002. 
 
 
Section 34-14C-5.  Exemptions. 
 
The licensure requirements of this chapter do not apply to the following entities or 
practitioners: 
 
(1) Home health agencies certified by the State of Alabama to participate in the 

Medicare and Medicaid programs. 
(2) Hospital based home medical equipment services, whether or not the 

services are provided through a separate corporation or other business 
entity. 



(3) Health care practitioners legally eligible to order or prescribe home medical 
equipment, or who use home medical equipment to treat patients in locations 
other than the patient’s residence, including, but not limited to, physicians, 
nurses, physical therapists, respiratory therapists, speech therapists, 
occupational therapists, optometrists, chiropractors, and podiatrists, except 
for those practitioners who provide home medical equipment services in a 
patient’s residence. 

(4) Manufacturers and wholesale distributors, when not selling directly to the 
patient. 

(5) Retail community pharmacies, including providers of home infusion therapy 
services. 

(6) Hospice programs, except programs which provide home medical equipment 
services, including delivery to a patient’s residence. 

(7) Skilled nursing facilities, except facilities which provide home medical 
equipment services, including delivery to a patient’s residence. 

(8) Governmental agencies, including fire districts which provide emergency 
medical services, and contractors to governmental agencies whose business 
deals only with the contracted agency. 

(9) Mail order companies, if deliveries are made only via common carriers, 
including the United States Postal Service. (Act 2000-739, p. 1619, § 5) 
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Section 34-14C-6.  Violations; penalties. 
 
(a) An entity or person found providing home medical equipment services 

without a license as required by this act shall be subject to an administrative 
fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) per day that services were provided 
without a license.  Funds collected pursuant to this act shall be allocated to 
the administration of the program. 

(b) An entity or person found providing home medical equipment services 
without a license as required by this act may be administratively enjoined by 
the board form providing services until such time as the entity or person 
complies with this act. 

(c) An entity or person subject to the penalties prescribed by subsection (a) and 
(b) shall be entitled to pursue an appeal through the board according to 
regulations promulgated by the board. 

(d) Any hearings related to matters before the board shall be conducted in 
Montgomery County.  (Act 2000-739, p. 1619 § 6; Act 2004-441, § 1.) 
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Section 34-14C-7.  Home Medical Equipment Services Fund. 
 
There is hereby established a separate special revenue trust fund in the State 
Treasury to be known as the Home Medical Equipment Services Fund.  All 
receipts collected by the board under the provisions of this act are to be 
deposited into this fund and shall be used only to carry out the provisions of this 
act.  The receipts shall be disbursed only by warrant of the State Comptroller 
upon the State Treasury, upon itemized vouchers approved by the executive 
director.  No funds shall be withdrawn or expended except as budgeted and 
allotted according to Sections 41-4-80 to 41-4-96, inclusive, and 41-19-1 to 41-
19-12, inclusive, Code of  Alabama 1975, and only in amounts as stipulated in 
the general appropriations bill or other appropriations bills. (Act 2000-739, p. 
1619, § 7; Act 2004-441, § 1.) 
 

HISTORY 
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Section 34-14-C-8.  Sunset provision. 
 
The home medical equipment services providers shall be subject to the Alabama 
Sunset law, Title 41, Chapter 20, Code of Alabama, 1975, as an enumerated 
agency as provided in Section 41-20-3, and shall have a termination date of 
October 1, 2002, and every four years thereafter, unless continued pursuant to 
the Alabama Sunset law.  (Act 2000-739, p. 1619 § 8) 
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