Board Meeting Minutes November 18, 2014

The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment met on Tuesday, November 18, 2014, at the Board office in Montgomery, Alabama for the purpose of conducting Board business. Those in attendance were as follows: Lisa Wells, Chair; Wayne Lewis, Vice Chair; Melissa Mann, Member; Vernon Johnson, Member; Bruce Ovitt, Member; Chris Tidwell, Member; and Missy Fields, Member. Not present were Dr. Fred Hunker, Member; Jonathan Temple, Member; Kent Garrett, Member; and John Beard, Member. Staff present were Paula McCaleb, Executive Director; Dana Billingsley, Legal Counsel; and Brandy Isenhour, Operations Manager (serving as Recording Secretary).

The meeting was called to order at approximately 10:15 a.m., with a quorum present, in the following members: Lisa Wells, Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson.

The meeting was advertised on the Board's web site, as well as the Secretary of State's web site, in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Act.

A motion was made by Lisa Wells to accept the meeting Minutes from September 16, 2014, as presented. Bruce Ovitt seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Lisa Wells, Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Lisa Wells to go into executive session based on Rules of order 4(a) the motion was withdrawn.

A ten (10) minute break was taken at 10:46 a.m. The Board re-convened at 10:58 a.m., with a quorum present, in the following members: Lisa Wells, Vernon Johnson, Bruce Ovitt, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, Missy Fields, and Wayne Lewis.

A motion was made by Missy Fields to nominate Lisa Wells for the position of Chair. Bruce Ovitt seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Chris Tidwell to nominate Vernon Johnson for the position of Vice Chair. A motion was made by Missy Fields to nominate Wayne Lewis Vice Chair. Melissa Mann seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Bruce Ovitt to have the excel file created for ADMEA with the company name, address, Person in Charge, and there contact information. Wayne Lewis seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Bruce Ovitt to open the discussion of the LA Contract. Wayne Lewis seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Vernon Johnson to continue to work with the management company until the time comes to put the contract out to bid. Chris Tidwell seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Chris Tidwell and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were Bruce Ovitt, Missy Fields, Melissa Mann. Abstained was Wayne Lewis. The motion did not pass.

A motion was made by Bruce Ovitt to give the management company Leadership alliance a written 60-day notice to terminate the contract. Missy Fields seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Bruce Ovitt, Missy Fields and Melissa Mann. Voting "nay" were Vernon Johnsons and Chris Tidwell. Abstained was Wayne Lewis. The motion passed.

A ten (10) minute break was taken at 12:31 p.m. The Board re-convened at 12:41 p.m., with a quorum present, in the following members: Lisa Wells, Vernon Johnson, Bruce Ovitt, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, Missy Fields, and Wayne Lewis.

A motion was made by Bruce Ovitt to accept the letter proposed for the 60-day written notice to terminate the contract with modifications that the contract ends January 31, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. Missy Fields seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Bruce Ovitt, Melissa Mann, Chris Tidwell, Missy Fields, and Vernon Johnson. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A motion was made by Missy Fields accept the rules and regulations as advertised with no changes. Chris Tidwell seconded the motion. The Chair called for a vote from the Board. Voting "aye" were Wayne Lewis, Rhonda Tidwell, Melissa Mann, Missy Fields, and Lisa Wells. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

Transition Committee was established: Lisa Wells Bruce Ovitt Melissa Mann Missy Fields

The Chair announced that the next scheduled Board meeting would be held on December 8, 2014, at the Board office in Montgomery, Alabama.

There being no further Board business, Vernon Johnson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Wayne Lewis. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 1:26 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lisa Wells, Chair

Paula McCaleb, *Executive Director*

Brandy L. Isenhour, Operations Manager (Serving as Recording Secretary)

Wayne Lewis, Vice Chair