Board Meeting Minutes February 18, 2014

The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment Services Providers met on Tuesday, February 18, 2014, in Montgomery, Alabama at the Board office for the purpose of conducting Board business. Those in attendance were as follows: Peter Czapla, Chair; Wayne Lewis, Vice-Chair; Melissa Mann, Member; Kent Crenshaw, Member; Chris Tidwell, Member; John Beard, Member; Diane Giddens, Member, and Bruce Ovitt, Member. Not present was Dr. Fred Hunker, Member; and Missy Fields, Member. Also present were Paula Scout McCaleb, Executive Director; Dana Billingsley, Legal Counsel; and Brandy Isenhour, Operations Manager and serving as Recording Secretary.

The meeting was called to order at approximately 10:08 a.m., with a quorum present, in the following members: Peter Czapla, Wayne Lewis, Kent Crenshaw, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, John Beard, Diane Giddens and Bruce Ovitt.

The meeting was advertised on the Board's web site, as well as the Secretary of State's web site, in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Act.

A motion was made by John Beard to accept the meeting Minutes from November 12, 2013, as presented. Diane Giddens seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Voting "aye" were Peter Czapla, Wayne Lewis, Kent Crenshaw, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, John Beard, Diane Giddens and Bruce Ovitt. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

Paula McCaleb, Executive Director Called for a motion and vote on Southern Patient Care Consent Order.

A motion was made by Bruce Ovitt to approve the Consent Order for Southern Patient Care. John Beard seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Voting "aye" were Kent Crenshaw, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, John Beard, Diane Giddens and Bruce Ovitt. Recused from voting were Peter Czpala and Wayne Lewis. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

A five (5) minute break was taken at 11:01 a.m. The Board re-convened at 11:13 p.m., with a quorum present, in the following members: Peter Czapla, Wayne Lewis, Kent Crenshaw, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, John Beard, Diane Giddens and Bruce Ovitt.

A motion was made by John Beard to renew the legal contract with Wilkerson and Bryan PC, Dana Billingsley. Wayne Lewis seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Voting "aye" were Peter Czapla, Wayne Lewis, Kent Crenshaw, Chris Tidwell, Melissa Mann, John Beard, Diane Giddens and Bruce Ovitt. Voting "nay" were none. The motion passed.

The Board was advised regarding finances, what would happen with the fund balance if out of state licensees could not be licensed in the state and if they were to reduce fees.

There being no further Board business, the Board meeting was adjourned, the time being approximately 11:45 a.m. The Chair announced that the next scheduled meeting would be held May 20, 2014 in the Montgomery Board Office.

Respectfully Submitted,		
Peter Czapla, Chairman	Paula McCaleb, Executive Director	
Wayne Lewis, Vice Chair	Brandy L. Isenhour, Operations Manager and Serving as Recording Secretary	