ALABAMA BOARD OF HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SERVICES PROVIDERS
Post Office Box 240636 « Montgomery, Alabama 36124-0636
Phone: (334) 215-3474 « Fax: (334) 215-3457

www.homemed.state.al.us

IMPORTANT LICENSURE NOTICE - 2"° NOTICE
New Licensure Requirement

T Out of State Home Medical Equipment Lj ees
FROM: Paula McCaleb, Executive Director

Date: July 11, 2014

RE: Act 2014-172 — Compliance Process

As an out of state licensee, your Alabama Home Medical Equipment License will expire on August 31,
2014, and is not eligible for renewal without establishing a physical location within Alabama that meets
the Board's licensure requirements. Below is the specific statute pertaining to this new requirement:

“Section 34-14C-4 (a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a home medical
equipment services provider shall be licensed annually by the board before the provider may
engage in the provision of home medical equipment services from more than one location
within the state, each such location shall be licensed. A provider of home medical
equipment services that has a principal place of business outside this state shall
maintain at least one physical location within this state, each of which shall be
licensed.”

Out of State Providers will not have to reapply for licensure or pay the $500 Site Inspection Fee for a
new license if the following is submitted to the Board office before August 31, 2014:
» Establish an in state location that meets the Medicare DMEPOS Supplier Standards
* Submit an Application for Change of Address including $275 Site Inspection Fee
* Pass a Site Inspection

Note: For a new location, many providers will also need to submit an Application for Change of
Person in Charge for that location. There is no fee for this change and a new application will not have
to be submitted.

For your convenience, please find attached the following items:
* Application for Change of Address
* Application for Change of Person in Charge
* Medicare DMEPOS Supplier Standards and Site Inspection Form

Out of state licensees who do not meet the new licensure requirement will be unable to provide
continued services to Alabama patients after August 31, 2014. Further, out of state licensees who do
not comply with the new requirement are responsible for notifying and referring patients to ensure no

Program Integrity Manual from CMS and/or the NSC's referral process/referral template in
transitioning patients.

If you have any questions related to the new licensure requirements, the submission of your
application(s) to the Board, or referral of patients, please contact the Board office at 334-215-3474.
Thank you.



Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment
P. O. Box 240636, Montgomery, AL 36124
Phone: 334-215-3474 FAX: 334.215.3457
Web Site: www.homemed.alabama.gov

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Instructions:
* This form is to be completed for existing licensees who are requesting a change of address only.
* If additional changes such as equipment provided, FEIN or SSN, or disciplinary actions have
ensued,

here. You will need to complete a new application instead.

* Once this completed form is received in the Board Office, you will be contacted by an Inspector
for the Board to schedule your site inspection. The site inspection form and 21 Supplier
Standards are published at www.homemed.alabama.gov for your convenience.

Current License Number:

Applicant Information

(Instructions: Please list below the new address and information)
Legal Business Name:
(D.B.A., Trade, or Business Name)
Street Address:

City, State, Zip Code:
Phone: ( ) FAX: ( )
E-mail Address:

Preferred Mailing Address (for mailing purposes only):

City, State, Zip Code:
FEIN# or SS#: Date Business Started: _/ /

[0 Yes [] No Are patient records stored at this location?

If “No”, where are they kept?
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Instructions: All business licenses and occupational licenses are required to reflect the new physical
address. List all business and occupational licenses you hold below (i.e. city, county or state business
license, pharmacy license if supplying oxygen, Elevator Permit if supplying stair lifts, Orthotics and

Prosthetics License (if supplying custom made O & P):

State/County/City | Type License Date License Expires Is the new address

reflected on this license?

o Yes 1 No

O Yes o No

O Yes o No

g Yes o No

a Yes a No

O Yes o No

If additional space is needed, record on a separate sheet of paper and attach to this application.

General Liability Insurance
Instructions: General Liability Insurance Policy must reflect the new physical address.
Insurance Company Name:

Policy Number: Date Issued:
Expiration Date: Agent Name:
Agent Phone #: Agent FAX:

o [ have attached a copy of all business and occupational licenses reflecting
new address;

o I have attached a copy of certificate of coverage for general liability
insurance (minimum of $300,000) reflecting new address;

o I have attached $275 for the Site Inspection Fee upon Chéange of Physical
location.

o Location is ready for site inspection now
OR

Location will be ready for site inspectionafter /[ .
(licensees are to file a change of address notice 30 days prior or 30 days after move.)

Affidavit of Applicant

1 acknowledge and state that all of the information supplied in this
application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and that I have read and are familiar with the Rules
and Regulations pertaining to the licensure of Home Medical Equipment in the State of Alabama. 1
acknowledge that any false or untrue statements or representation made in this application may result in the
revocation or denial of any license to provide home medical equipment granted to me and/or criminal
prosecution to the fullest extent of the law.

Person in Charge Signature Date
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473-X-1-.01. Definitions.

(1) Applicant means an individual applicant in the case of a sole proprietorship, or any
officer, director, agent, managing employee, general manager, or person in charge, or
any partner or shareholder having an ownership interest in the corporation, partnership,
or other business entity.

(2) Board means the Board of Home Medical Equipment, as established by the Code of
Ala. 1975, Sections 34-14C-1, et seq.

(3) Consumer or Patient means any person who uses home medical equipment in his or
her place of residence.

(4) Home Medical Equipment (HME) means medical devices usable in a residential
setting. Home Medical Equipment is any equipment that provides therapeutic benefits or
enables the consumer to perform certain tasks that he or she is unable to undertake
otherwise due to certain medical conditions and/or illnesses. Home Medical Equipment
is considered to be equipment that can withstand repeated use and is primarily and




customarily used to serve a medical purpose. Home Medical Equipment includes, but is
not limited to:

(a) equipment such as wheelchairs and power-operated vehicles (“scooters”),
wheeichair cushions and seating systems, hospital beds, traction equipment, canes,
crutches, walkers; respiratory care equipment, including positive air pressure
devices, invasive and non invasive ventilators, apnea monitors, aerosol
compressors, nebulizers, oxygen therapy equipment, and other such devices; and
other medically needed products or supplies.

(b) any product intended for use in the home and defined as a medical device by the
U. 8. Food and Drug Administration under the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act,
Chapter 11, Sec. 201. [312](b) and Chapter V, Subchapters (A) and (B).

(c) any product, intended for use in the home, which is a device, instrument,
apparatus, machine, or other similar article whose label bears the statement:
“Caution: Federal law requires dispensing by or on the order of a

physician.”

(d) any product eligible to be reimbursed under the Healthcare Common Procedure
Coding System (HCPCS) code listing by any insurance provider, to include, but not
fimited to, Medicare Program Part B Durable Medical Equipment benefits or
Alabama Medicaid Program Durable Medical Equipment benefits.

(e) Home Medical Equipment does not include prosthetics, splints, braces or aids
custom fabricated by a licensed health care provider.

(f} Home Medical Equipment does not include vehicle platform lifts or residential
ptatform lifts and stairways chair lifts.

(5) Home Medical Equipment Services means the advertisement, in any form or through
any medium, sale, rental, delivery, installation, maintenance, replacement of, or
instruction in the use of medical equipment and related supplies used by a sick or
disabied individual to obtain care or treatment and be maintained in a residential setting.

{6) Home Medical Equipment Services Provider means a corporation, other business
entity, or person engaged in the business of providing home medical equipment, either
directly or through a contractual arrangement, to an unrelated sick or disabled individual
in the residence of that individual.




(7) Licensee means the person or entity to which a license is issued by the Board.

(8)_Mail order company means a company which lists its products for consumers to buy,
rent or lease via telephone, mailed check with order form, or Internet order and delivers
such products directly to the consumer via a postal service, such as the U.S. Postal
Service (USPS), UPS, FedEx or another courier service; provided, however, that a
company that supplies respiratory care and oxygen equipment, as defined under Rule
473-X-1-.01(4)(a), to Alabama consumers in this manner, or any other home medical
equipment necessary to avert an immediate threat to a consumer’s health or safety,
without which a consumer might be required to seek emergency medical treatment,
shall not be considered to be a mail order company for purposes of this rule. Mail order
companies do not have a licensed physical location in the state and must comply with
the regulations of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), 16 C.F.R. §§ 435.1 t0 435.3,
and the USPS. Home Medical Equipment Services Providers whose employees,
agents or subcontractors enter the consumer’s residence to service home medical
equipment supplied by a mail order company or to instruct consumers in the use of such
equipment shall not be considered mail order companies.

(9) Person in Charge means any individual, partnership, corporation, association,
governmental subdivision or public or private organization that directly or indirectly
manages, controls, or oversees the operation of a corporation or other business entity
that is a licensee, regardless if that person is a partner, shareholder, owner, officer,
director, agent, or employee of the entity.

(10) Change in Ownership or Change in Control means the purchase of either the
assets or stock of a Home Medical Equipment Services Provider's Business.

(a) an asset purchase is the purchase of the assets of a business only. The buyer
will be operating the business under a new tax identification number (TIN).

{(b) a stock purchase is the purchase of all the assets and liabilities of a business,
where the buyer will retain and operate the business under its existing TIN.

(11) Warehouse means a support facility to a licensed location that houses a licensee's
surplus inventory of home medical equipment. A warehouse is not open to the public,
may not sell or distribute home medical equipment directly to the consumer and may not
be advertised as a licensed location. A warehouse does not meet the supplier standards
set forth in 473-X-4-.01 and may not be licensed as a separate location.



HISTORY:

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama, 1975 §34-14C1 thru §34-14C8, Act
#2000-739, HB 419 of the 2000 Regular Session.

Filed: July 9, 2014 Effective Date: August 13, 2014

473-X-2-.01. Employees; Qath; Meeting; Powers.

(1) The Board may employ an executive director, attorney, experts, and other personne!
as it may from time to time find necessary, for the proper performance of its duties, and
for whom necessary funds are appropriated.

(2) Before entering public duties of the office, the members of the Board shall take the
constitutional oath of office.

(3) The Board shall elect, at the first meeting following October 1st each year, a Chair
and a Vice Chair. The Board shall hold at least fwo meetings each year. Additional
meetings may be held at the discretion of the Chair or upon the written request of any
three members of the Board. A majority of the currently appointed members of the
Board shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Board shall inspect and pass on the qualifications of applicants and shall issue
a license to each successful applicant.

(5) The Board may authorize expenditures as necessary to carry out its duties from the
fees that it collects, pursuant to a budget developed and approved by the Board. In no
event shall the expenditures exceed the revenues of the Board during any fiscal year.

(6) The Board may reimburse Board members for attorney fees incurred if individual
members of the Board are personally sued under the Open Meetings Act. Absent
negligence, recklessness, wantonness, or deliberate misconduct, members of the Board
are immune from liability for all good faith acts performed in the exercise of their duties
as members of the Board.



HISTORY:

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama, 1975 §34-14C1 thru §34-14C8, Act
#2000-739, HB 419 of the 2000 Regular Session.

Fited: July 9, 2014 Effective Date: August 13, 2014

473-X-3-.01. Administrative Procedure.

(1) Any person may be heard by the Board in person or through an attorney, as long as
they file a written request with the Board office. The Board will schedule the appearance
at the next regularly scheduled meeting, provided the request is received at least
fourteen (14) days prior to such meeting; otherwise, the appearance will be scheduled
for the second meeting following receipt of the request.

(2) Board meetings shall be conducted following a written agenda, which is provided to
each member at least ten (10) days prior to each meeting. The Alabama Open Meetings
Act and/or Robert's Rules of Order, short form, shall be used as the parliamentary
authority for all meetings of the Board.

(3) Upon receipt of an application and the appropriate fees therefor, the fees shall be
deposited into the Home Medical Equipment Fund in the State Treasury, pursuant to
Code of Ala. 1975, Section 34-14C-7.

(4) If the application is complete and sufficiently meets the standards set by the Board,
the Board office shall schedule an inspection, as required.

(5) If the application is not complete, the Board office shall notify the applicant, in
writing, of all deficiencies in the application. If the applicant does not return a properly
completed application within ninety (90) days: of the notification of deficiency, or, if a
completed application can not be submitted within ninety (90) days, the fee is forfeited
and the applicant may reapply.

(6) No one may operate as a Home Medical Equipment Services Provider without a
valid license, including during the time a license application is pending.

(7) The licensure application, the form of which is indexed in the appendix to this
section, shall inciude at a minimum, the following information:



(a) Name, physical location, mailing address, and telephone number of the business,
including all trade or business names.

(b) The name of the manager or person in charge of the day-to-day business
operations at the physical location.

(c) The names and home addresses of officers or other persons in positions of
control.

{(d) The hours and days of operation of the business.
(e) A list of categories of equipment and services provided to the public.
(f) Certification of insurance.

{g) The Federal Employee identification number assigned to the business. For a sole
proprietor, this may be the social security number of the owner.

(h) Disclosure of ownership, which includes: the name of a person, if a person; the
full name of a sole proprietor and the name of the business entity, if a sole
proprietorship; the name of each partner and the name of the partnership, if a
partnership; the name and title of each corporate officer and director, a list of
shareholders, the corporate name and the state of incorporation and the name of
any parent company, if a corporation; or the full name and title of each member and
each manager of a limited liability company, the name of the state where organized
and the name of the parent company.

(i} Proof of United States citizenship or of legal presence in the United States, as
required by Section 31-13-7, Code of Ala., 1975.

(j) Certification, signed by a person with the authority to bind the applicant and
notarized under oath, indicating that the applicant complies with the rules and
regulations of the Board, and has truthfully and completely

disclosed all ownership and control of the applicant, and that all information
submitted on or with the application is true and complete.

(k) No question should be left blank. If an item does not apply, then the applicant
should mark the question in a fashion adequate to allow the Board to determine that
the applicant did not over look it.



(8) Any change in the name, address, control, ownership, manager or person in charge
of a licensee shall be reported to the Board office within thirty (30) days of such change.
The change should be reported on the applicable form(s) indexed in the appendices to
these rules.

(a) A change only in the physical address of a licensee requires submission of the
Application for a Change of Address and the required fee within thirty (30) days of
such change, and a site inspection of the new facility.

{b) A change only in the Person in Charge of a licensee requires submission of the
Application for Change of Person in Charge within thirty (30) days of such change.

(c) A change in the ownership or control of a licensee requires notification of the
change in ownership within (30) days of such change.

1. The purchase of only the assets of a business (an asset purchase) requires
the buyer to operate the business under a new tax identification number (TIN}. A
change in the TIN requires the new owner to obtain a new Medicare supplier
number and submit a new application for licensure to the Board. The new owners
must successfully complete the reapplication process before a new license can
be issued.

2. The purchase of all the assets and liabilities of a business (a stock purchase)
permits the buyer to retain and operate the business under the existing TIN. The
new owner must submit a letter notifying the Board of the change in ownership or
control within thirty (30) days of such change.

(d) If more than one change occurs simuitaneously in the information reflected on
the licensee's application,

including but not limited to, the physical address, equipment provided, FEIN or SSN,
or if disciplinary actions against the licensee have ensued before this Board or in any
other licensing state or jurisdiction, the licensee must complete and submit a new
application for licensure reflecting all such changes within thirty (30) days of such
change and successfully complete the reapplication process before a new license
can be issued.

(9) All licenses expire on August 31st of each year. If not renewed within sixty (60) days
of the expiration date, the license is considered lapsed, and a new application and



inspection will be required. The Board may notify third party payors, related regulatory
boards and agencies, and governmental agencies responsible for reimbursement to
home medical equipment services providers, such as Medicaid and Medicare, of lapsed
licenses no earlier than November 1st of each licensing year.

(10) Certain entities are exempt from licensure pursuant to Section §34-14C-5, Code of
Ala. 1975.

HISTORY:

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama, 1975 §34-14C1 thru §34-14C8, Act
#2000-739, HB 419 of the 2000 Regular Session.
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473-X-4-.01. Inspection Standards.

(1) The Board hereby incorporates the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS) Medicare Durable Medical Equipment Provider of Service (DMEPOS) Supplier
Standards as additional requirements with which all applicants must comply for
licensure; provided, however, the Board does not incorporate the requirement for
accreditation as an additional requirements with which applicants for licensure must
comply.

(2) A Home Medical Equipment Services Provider shall maintain a physical facility on an
appropriate site. The facility must contain space for storing business records, including
the supplier's delivery, maintenance, and patient records. For purposes of this rule, a
residence, post office box or commercial mailbox is not considered a physical facility.

(3) A Home Medical Equipment Services Provider must maintain a primary business
telephone at the physical facility. This telephone number must be listed under the name
of the business and in the business section of the local telephone company directory.
The exclusive use of a pager number, call forwarding, answering service, cell phone, or
answering machine may not be used as the primary business telephone.

(4) The physical facility must be staffed during normal business hours, and must have a
visible sign with the name of the business, business hours, and the phone number
required by paragraph (3).



(5) Medical equipment shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition and stored
in a dry, well-ventilated area. Routine maintenance, preventative maintenance, and
repairs shall be performed according to manufacturer's guidelines. The home medical
equipment services provider shall provide consumer instruction regarding the use of
home medical equipment requiring services. Delivery services include transportation of
equipment to and from consumer, equipment setup, and record keeping.

(6) Records shall be maintained to the same extent as required by federal regulations,
including, but not limited to, any physician orders, certificates of medical necessity,
signed and dated delivery slips, documentation of all services, equipment, and
maintenance received, and other information as appropriate for the equipment provided.

(7) License applicants who, upon initial inspection, are found not to comply with
applicable licensing standards, shall be notified by the Board office of the areas of
noncompliance and shall be re-inspected for compliance upon

application and payment of a re-inspection fee of no more than three hundred dollars
($300), as established by the Board.

(8) The Board may conduct random inspections upon the filing of a complaint,
application for renewal of a license, for cause, and as otherwise necessary to ensure
the integrity and effectiveness of the licensing process. Licensees who fail to pass an
inspection related to the filing of a complaint, for cause, upon an application for license
renewal or for any other cause must cease and desist their operations upon receipt of
written notice of failure to pass inspection until they have come into compliance with all
applicable standards, unless the Board negotiates a plan for compliance with the
licensee and conducts a further inspection for compliance at a time to be determined by
the Board. Licensees subject to re-inspection will be required to remit an additional re-
inspection fee of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250).

(9) Upon notice of failure to pass inspection, an applicant or licensee shall have thirty
(30) days to appeal the inspection results, or be subject to penalties pursuant to Section
34-14C-6, Code of Ala., 1975. Upon appeal, a provider shall have the right to an
inspection review or a new inspection, in accordance with Rule 473-X-7-.01.

HISTORY:

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment
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473-X-5-.01. Ethics.

(1) The Board hereby incorporates by reference the Medicare Supplier Standards
[found at 42 C.F.R. pt. 424, sec 424.57(c), effective December 11, 2000]; with the
exception of accreditation standards,

(2) Dishonorable, unethical or unprofessional conduct within the meaning of Section
34-14C-6(e)(9), Code of Ala., 1975, is interpreted to include, but is not limited to, the
following acts or practices:

a. (a) Practicing, condoning, facilitating or collaborating with any form of
discrimination against any person or group on the basis of race, color, sex,
sexual orientation, age, religion, national origin, marital status, political belief,
mental or physical handicap, or any other preference or personal characteristic,
condition or status.

(b) Failing to offer all facts regarding services or equipment to the consumer
prior to administration of services (such as proper use and maintenance of
equipment, warranty information, etc.). Patients and

caregivers shall be informed of their rights and obligations regarding the sale,
rental, and service of home medical equipment.

(c) Failing to protect the privacy of patient information and disclosing such
information without proper authorization, except as required by law.

(d) Performing or allowing employees to perform professional services
beyond their scope of practice and competency.

(e) Failing to establish and maintain client records.

(f) Intentional submission of fraudulent claims for services to any person or
entity, including, but not limited to, health insurance companies or health service
plans or third party payors.

(9) Failure to abide by federal and local laws and regulations governing the
home medical equipment industry.

(hy  Participating, directly or indirectly, with a source of patient referrals, in any

arrangement which interferes with a consumer’s right to choose a home medical
equipment supplier.

HISTORY:



Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment
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473-X-6-.01. Denial, Revocation, Suspension.

(1) A license may not be denied, suspended, or revoked except by majority vote of the
Board and with prior notice and opportunity for hearing, in accordance with Code of Ala.
1975, Sections 34-14C-1, et seq., and the Alabama

Administrative Procedure Act.

(2) The Board may institute a hearing for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license
or any person may file a written complaint with the Board seeking the denial,
suspension, or revocation of an application for licensure or license issued by the Board
or the investigation of any unlicensed person or entity providing home medical
equipment services. Complaints shall be in a form prescribed by the Board and shall be
verified under oath by the complainant. If the Board determines that the complaint is
substantive and relevant, it may inspect the operations of the provider to

determine compliance with the Board’s rules and regulations. Upon receipt of the
inspection report, the Board may dismiss the complaint or send a notice of non-
compliance to the licensee, which may be appealed through the Board in accordance
with the procedures set forth in Rule 473-X-7-.01.

(3) A copy of the charges, including notice of the time and place of hearing, will be
served by certified mail, return receipt requested, at ieast twenty-one (21) days before
the scheduled hearing date to the most recent address of the applicant or licensee on
file with the Board, or to the last known address of any unlicensed person or entity
providing home medical equipment services. If the notice and opportunity for hearing is
refused or the return receipt has not been received by the Board within ten (10) days
before the scheduled hearing, the applicant, licensee, or unlicensed person or entity
may be served by mailing the charges and notice by first class mail, at least seven (7)
days hefore the hearing date, to the most recent address on file with the Board, or to the
last known address of the unlicensed person or

entity providing home medical equipment services.

(4) Any hearings related to matters before the Board shall be conducted in Montgomery
County, Alabama.



(5) The Board may invoke disciplinary action as outlined in paragraph (6) below,
including the denial or suspension of an application for an initial or renewal license,
whenever it is established to the satisfaction of the Board, after a hearing held in
accordance with Code of Ala. 1975, Sections 34-14C-1, et seq., and the Alabama
Administrative Procedure Act, that a person is guilty of any of the following acts:

(b) (a) Violation of any provision of the Board’s licensure act or any rule or
regulation of the Board.

(b) Making a material misrepresentation in furnishing information to the Board.

(c) Making a misrepresentation to obtain licensure or to otherwise violate the
Board's licensure act or the rules and regulations of the Board.

(d) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any crime that
is a felony under the laws of the United States, or any state or territory of the
United States, or to any crime that is a misdemeanor, if an essential element of
the crime is dishonesty or is directly related to providing home medical
equipment

services.

(e) Gross negligence or gross misconduct in providing home medical equipment
services.

(f) Aiding, assisting, or willingly permitting another person to violate any provision
of the Board’s licensure act or rule or regulation of the Board.

(g) Failing, within thirty (30) days, to provide information in response to a written
request of the Board.

(h) Failing to cooperate with an inspection or with an investigation conducted by
the Board.

(i) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or unprofessional conduct of a character
likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the pubilic.

(i) Denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of a license in another state or
jurisdiction to provide home medical equipment services for a reason other than



failure to renew the license.
(k) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving from any person, partnership,
corporation, or other legal entity any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of

compensation for services not actually or personally rendered.

(I) A finding that a licensee on probationary status has violated the terms of the
probation.

(m) Willfully making or filing false records, reports, or biillings in the course of
providing home medical equipment services, including, but not limited to, false
records, reports, or billings filed with state or federal agencies or departments.
(n) The use of any words, abbreviations, figures, or letters with the intention of
indicating practice as a home medical equipment services provider without

having first obtained a license from the Board.

(o) Failure to comply with state or federal laws and regulations concerning home
medical equipment services providers.

(p) Solicitation of home medical equipment services using false or misleading
advertising.

(q) Failure to prominently display a license at each licensed location.

(r) Failure to report a change of name, address, control, ownership, or
administration to the Board within thirty (30) days after the date of change.

(6) When the Board finds any person guilty of any of the grounds set forth in paragraph
five (5), it may enter an order imposing one or more of the following penaities:

(a)  Aletter of reprimand.

(b)  Probation for a period of time and subject to such conditions as may be
prescribed by the Board.

(c) Denial of an application for an initial or renewal license.

(d) Suspension of a license for a period of time established by the Board, with or



without automatic reinstatement.
(e) Revocation of a license.

(f) Payment of restitution to each consumer negatively affected by the prohibited
act. Proof of such restitution shall be a signed and notarized release executed
by the consumer or the estate of the consumer.

(g) Assessment of the costs of the disciplinary proceedings.

(7) Failure to comply with any final order of the Board is also cause for suspension or
revocation of a license. The Board may suspend or revoke any license which has been
issued based on false or fraudulent representations.

(8) The Board may informally resolve any alleged violation of its licensure act or rules
and regulations by stipulation, agreed settlement, or consent order, in lieu of an
administrative hearing.

(9) In addition fo any other disciplinary action authorized hereunder, the Board may levy
and collect administrative fines for violations of the Board’s licensure act or its rules and
regulations in an amount of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each violation.

(10) Any entity or person found to be providing home medical equipment services
without a license shall be subject to an administrative fine of up to one thousand dollars
($1,000) per day that services were provided without a license and may be
administratively enjoined from providing such services until such time as the person or
entity comes into compliance. Any person or entity subject to the penalties prescribed
in this paragraph (10) may pursue an appeal through the Board in accordance with the
procedures set forth in Rule 473-X-7-.01.

(11) The Board may seek injunctive relief against any person or entity found to be in
violation of its licensure act or its rules and regulations in addition to any other penalty
or disciplinary action authorized hereunder. In an action for an

injunction, the Board may demand and recover a civil penalty of fifty dollars ($50) per
day for each violation, reasonable attorney fees, and court costs; provided, however,
that no civil penalty shall be awarded to the Board if an administrative fine is assessed
pursuant to paragraph ten (10).

(12) Upon the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee shall immediately



surrender the license to the Board. If the licensee fails to do so, the Board may seize
the license.

(13) Any person aggrieved by an adverse action of the Board may appeal the action to
the Circuit Court of Montgomery County, in accordance with the Alabama Administrative
Procedure Act.

HISTORY:

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment

Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama, 1975 §34-14C1 thru §34-14C8, Act
#2000-739, HB 419 of the 2000 Regular Session.

Filed: July 9, 2014 Effective Date: August 13, 2014

473-X-7-.01. Appeal to the Board.

(1) Any entity or person against whom an administrative fine has been levied by the
Board for providing home medical equipment services without a license as required
under Section 34-14C-4, Code of Ala. 1975, or who has been administratively enjoined
from providing home medical equipment services without such a license, shall be
entitled to pursue an appeal through the Board for reconsideration of such decisions
rendered after a contested case proceeding. This rule shall also govern appeals of
inspection results from any entity or person to whom a written notice of failure to pass
inspection has been issued by the Board.

(2)The Board shall entertain written requests for reconsideration of inspection results or
of its decision in a contested case proceeding as set forth in paragraph (1) above in an
appeal hearing by either party thereto if timely submitted within thirty (30) days from the
rendition of said decision in a written final order adopted by the Board.

(3)The request should be based upon newly discovered evidence which would justify
relief from the decision
rendered.

(4YSuch requests should include, by written memorandum or brief, the detailed basis for
such reconsideration. The opposing party shall have the opportunity to present a written
reply memorandum or brief challenging such basis within thirty (30) days from the
submission of the request for reconsideration.



(56)The Board shall review the written arguments of the parties at its next regular or
special meeting and, based upon such review, determine in its discretion by a majority
vote of a quorum of its members whether to sustain its previous decision or grant such
relief from the decision as may be appropriate. In reviewing the request, the Board may,
at its sole discretion, hear further oral argument or new sworn testimony or suggest
supplemental responses. The Board shall render a written order setting forth the
determination of the Board within thirty (30) days of the vote refiecting the determination
of the Board.

(6)The filing of the request for reconsideration shall be at the option of the parties and
should not be deemed as a prerequisite to, or hindrance of, either party’s right to judicial
review of a Board decision in accordance with the procedures provided under the
Alabama Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 22, Title 41, Code of Ala. 1975.
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473-X-8-.01. Renewal of License.

(1) The Home Medical Equipment license shall be valid for one (1) year, expiring on
August 31 of each year; however, the initial licensure period for any given license may
be prorated so that its expiration date coincides with the August 31% renewal date for alf
valid licenses. The license fee will not be prorated for abbreviated licenses issued. A
license may still be renewed within the sixty (60) day period following the expiration date
of August 31° upon payment of both the required renewal fee of two hundred and fifty
dollars ($250) and a late fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150).

(2) Failure to renew within sixty (60) days after the expiration date of the current
licensure will resuit in a lapsed license. Home Medical Equipment Services Providers
will not be permitted to provide home medical equipment services with a lapsed license.
Licensees who operate under lapsed licenses shall be subject to the penalties
established under Section 34-14-C-6, Code of Ala., 1975.

(3) One (1) renewal notice will be provided by U.S. Mail to the licensee’s last address of
record sixty (60) days prior to the renewal date. Licensees are responsible to maintain a



current mailing address with the Board. One final renewal notice will be placed by an
automated calling service on August 21! to licensees who have not renewed by this
date.

(4) To be eligible for renewal, an applicant shall:
(a) Hold a valid, active Alabama license; and

(b) Timely submit a completed and signed renewal application and required fee(s) to
the Board.

(5) Renewals will be submitted online via the Board's web site. Licensees may request
manual renewal by making a written request to the Board office.

(6) Failure to receive the renewal application or notice of renewal shall not relieve the
licensee of the responsibility to renew the license by the expiration date.

(7) Once a license has lapsed, a cease and desist letter will be issued by certified mail
to the last address of record and a new application and inspection will be required for
licensure.

(8) The Board may notify third party payors, regutatory boards and agencies, and
governmental agencies responsible for reimbursement to home medical equipment
services providers, such as Medicaid and Medicare, of lapsed licenses no earlier than
November 1% of each licensing year.
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Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment
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Filed: July 9, 2014 Effective Date: August 13, 2014

Appendix |. Fees

$250 License/Renewal Fee (per location)

$500 Initial Inspection Fee (per location)



$250 Re-Inspection Fee
$275 Site Inspection Fee upon Change of Physical Location
$150 Late Renewal Fee
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APPENDICES 2 - Forms associated with these Rules and Regulations.

Application for Initial License



Chapter 14C. Home Medical Equipment.

§ 34-14C-1. Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

(1) BOARD. The Board of Home Medical Equipment as established by this chapter.

(2) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT. Medical devices usable in a residential setting, as
defined in regulations established by the board.

(3) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SERVICES. The advertisement, sale, rental,
delivery, installation, maintenance, replacement of, or instruction in the use of
medical equipment and related supplies used by a sick or disabled individual to
allow that individual to obtain care or treatment and be maintained in a residential
setting.

(4) HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SERVICES PROVIDER. A corporation, other
business entity, or person engaged in the business of providing home medical
equipment services, either directly or through a contractual arrangement, to an
unrelated sick or disabled individual in the residence of that individual.

§ 34-14C-2. Board of Home Medical Equipment.

(a) The Governor shall appoint a minimum of nine persons to serve on the Board of
Home Medical Equipment, such persons to include a majority who are employed in
the home medical equipment industry, and at least one person from each of the fol-
lowing categories: A consumer of home medical equipment services, a physician, a
representative from the acute-care hospital community, and a representative from
the home health agency community. Those persons employed in the home medical
equipment industry shall be selected from a list submitted by the Alabama Durable
Medical Equipment Association, or its successor. The consumer member shall be se-
lected from a list of names submitted by the Governor's Office on Disability, or its
suc-cessor. The physician member shall be selected from a list of names submitted
by the Medical Association of Alabama, or its successor. The acute-care hospital
community member shall be selected from a list submitted by the Alabama Hospital
Association, or its successor. The home health agency community member shall be
selected from a list of names submitted by the Home Care Association of Alabama,
or its successor. All lists submitted for nominations shall include at least two names
for each appointed position to be filled. Board members shall each be citizens of this
state and shall have no record of sanctions related to fraud under federal or state
law. The membership of the board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender,
geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state.



{b) The initial members appointed to the board shail serve for terms of three to five
years, with one-third of the board being replaced each year, beginning in year four.
Thereafter, subsequent appointments shall be for a term of four years. No member
shall serve more than two consecutive terms of office. An appointment shall end on
October 1, four years from the date of the last term, and each member shall hold
office until his or her successor is appointed by the Governor.

{c) Members of the board shall not be entitled to compensation for service, but shall
be reimbursed for reasonable travel and meeting expenses, according to a budget
developed and approved by the board.

(d) The board shall have the responsibility for creating, establishing, maintaining,
and enforcing regulations governing the operation of home medical equipment
services providers, including the qualifications of inspectors, the nature of
inspections, and the process for appeals.

(e) Whenever a vacancy occurs on the board due to the death or resignation of a
currently appointed board member, or other like cause, the vacancy shall be filled
by appointment by the Governor for the remainder of the unexpired term of the
member, as provided under subsection (b). If a vacancy occurs among those
members who are employed in the home medical equipment industry, the
appointment shall be made from a list submitted by the Alabama Durable Medical
Equipment Association or its successor.

(f) At the request of the board, the Governor may remove a member for failing to at-
tend three consecutive and properly noticed meetings. The Governor may also re-
move a board member for any of the following reasons:

(1) Misfeasance.

(2) Malfeasance.

(3) Neglect of duty.

(4) Conviction of a felony.

(5) Permanent inability to perform official duties.

(g) The board may hire personnel necessary to carry out the provisions of this
chapter. With the exception of the executive director, all personnel shall be subject
to the provisions of the state Merit System Act.

(h) The board shall adopt a seal, which shall be affixed to all licenses issued by the

board, and shall have all other powers necessary and proper for performing official
du-ties.



(i) The board may establish and charge reasonable fees relating to the
administration and enforcement of this chapter including, but not limited to,
application, processing, copying, mailing, filing, and other fees as necessary to offset
costs.

(j) Absent negligence, recklessness, wantonness, or deliberate misconduct, members
of the board are immune from liability for all good faith acts performed in the
exercise of their duties as members of the board.

§ 34-14C-3. Duties of board; requirements of providers.

(a) The board shall adopt regulations that specify the medical equipment to be
included in this chapter, set standards for the licensure of entities which provide
home medical equipment services, and govern the safety and quality of home
medical equipment service providers.

(b) All home medical equipment services providers shall:

(1) Comply with all applicable federal and state laws and regulations governing the
safety of home medical equipment services provider facilities and delivery vehicles,
the safety and quality of home medical equipment, and the safety, quality, and
effectiveness of home medical equipment service procedures.

(2) Comply with any additional standards and testing requirements, as duly
promulgated by the board and required for licensure.

§ 34-14C-4. Licensure; inspections.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a home medical equipment
services provider shall be licensed annually by the board before the provider may
engage in the provision of home medical equipment services. In Alabama, when a
single business entity provides home medical equipment services from more than
one location within the state, each such location shall be licensed. A provider of
home medical equipment services that has a principal place of business outside this
state shall maintain at least one physical location within this state, each of which
shall be licensed.

(b} A license applicant shall submit the application for licensing or renewal to the
board on a form promulgated and required by the board. Applicants shall pay a
reasonable nonrefundable fee established by the board at the time the application is
submitted. The board shall have the authority to set reasonable fees for applicants
to obtain a license. Upon satisfaction of all applicable standards and requirements
for li-censure, the board shall issue a license certificate permitting the licensee to
engage in providing home medical equipment services. The certificate shall be
displayed prominently at each licensed location. No person, partnership,
corporation, or other legal entity that is not otherwise exempted under this chapter



shall provide home medical equipment services without first obtaining a license
issued by the board.

(c) Accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations, the Community Health Accreditation Program, or other accrediting
entities shall not be substituted for compliance with this chapter.

(d) Commencing on June 1, 2014, licenses issued pursuant to this chapter shall
expire on August 31 of the year following issuance. A license may be renewed within
the 60-day period after August 31 upon payment of both the required fee and a late
fee as established by rule of the board. Any license that is not renewed before the
end of the 60-day grace period shall lapse. A lapsed license may not be renewed
unless the holder reapplies and satisfies then current requirements for initial
licensure.

(e) License applicants who, upon initial inspection, are found not to comply with
applicable licensing standards, shall be notified by the board of the areas of
noncompliance and shall be reinspected for compliance upon application and
payment of a reasonable reinspection fee established by the board of up to three
hundred dollars ($300).

(f) Except as provided in this chapter, the board may inspect all license applicants to
determine compliance with the requirements of this chapter prior to the issuance of
a license.

{(g) The board may conduct random inspections upon application for renewal of a li-
cense, for cause, and as necessary to ensure the integrity and effectiveness of the li-
censing process.

(h) At any time upon the filing of a substantive, relevant complaint of a consumer of
services or other qualified source as identified by the board, the board may inspect
the operations of the provider to determine compliance with the requirements of
this chap-ter.

(i) The board shall adopt and maintain standards for the individuals charged with
con-ducting the inspections for the purpose of determining compliance with the
requirements of this chapter. Board employees or contractors may conduct
inspections.

{j) Upon notice of a failure to pass an inspection and obtain a license, a provider
shall have 30 days to appeal the inspection results or be subject to penalties
pursuant to Section 34-14C-6. Upon appeal, a provider shall have the right to an
inspection review or a new inspection in accordance with procedures promulgated
by the board.

§ 34-14C-4.1. Inspection fees.



The Board of Home Medical Equipment may establish by rule, and charge and
collect, reasonable inspection fees pursuant to the Alabama Administrative
Procedure Act.

§ 34-14C-5. Exemptions.

The licensure requirements of this chapter do not apply to the following entities or
practitioners:

(1) Home health agencies certified by the State of Alabama to participate in the
Medicare and Medicaid programs.

(2} Hospital based home medical equipment services, whether or not the services
are provided through a separate corporation or other business entity.

(3) Health care practitioners legally eligible to order or prescribe home medical
equipment, or who use home medical equipment to treat patients in locations other
than the patient's residence, including, but not limited to, physicians, nurses,
physical therapists, respiratory therapists, speech therapists, occupational
therapists, optometrists, chiropractors, and podiatrists, except for those
practitioners, other than a licensed physician practicing medicine, who provide
home medical equipment services in a patient’s residence.

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as prohibiting or restricting a licensed
physician who is practicing medicine, nor shall anything in this chapter be
construed as requiring a physician practicing medicine, to be licensed as a home
medical equipment services provider.

(4) Manufacturers and wholesale distributors, when not selling directly to a patient.

(5) Retail community pharmacies, including providers of home infusion therapy ser-
vices.

(6) Hospice programs, except programs which provide home medical equipment
services, including delivery to a patient's residence.

(7) Skilled nursing facilities, except facilities which provide home medical
equipment services, including delivery to a patient's residence.

(8) Governmental agencies, including fire districts which provide emergency
medical services, and contractors to governmental agencies whose business deals

only with the contracted agency.

(9) Mail order companies, as defined by rule of the board.



§ 34-14C-6. Denial, suspension, or revocation of license; hearing; notice; penal-ties;
appeal.

(a) The board may deny, suspend, or revoke a license as provided in this section.

(b} A license may not be denied, suspended, or revoked except by majority vote of
the board and with prior notice and opportunity for hearing in accordance with this
chapter and the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act.

(c) The board may institute a hearing for denial, suspension, or revocation of a
license or any person may file a written complaint with the board seeking the denial,
suspension, or revocation of an application for licensure or license issued by the
board or the investigation of any unlicensed person or entity providing home
medical equipment services. The complaint shall be in a form prescribed by the
board.

(d) A copy of the charges, including notice of the time and place of hearing, shall be
served by certified mail, return receipt requested, at least 21 days before the
scheduled hearing date to the most recent address of the applicant or licensee on
file with the board, or to the last known address of any unlicensed person or entity
providing home medical equipment services. If the notice and opportunity for
hearing is refused or the return receipt has not been received by the board within
10 days before the scheduled hearing, the applicant, licensee, or unlicensed person
or entity may be served by mailing the charges and notice by first class mail, at least
seven days be-fore the hearing date, to the most recent address on file with the
board, or to the last known address of the unlicensed person or entity providing
home medical equipment services.

(e} The board may invoke disciplinary action as outlined in subsection (f) whenever
it is established to the satisfaction of the board, after a hearing held in accordance
with this chapter and the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act, that any person is
guilty of any of the following acts:

(1) Violation of this chapter or a rule of the board.
(2) Making a material misrepresentation in furnishing information to the board.

(3) Making a misrepresentation to obtain licensure or to otherwise violate this
chapter.

(4) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any crime that is a
felony under the laws of the United States, or any state or territory of the United
States, or to any crime that is a misdemeanor, if an essential element of the crime is
dishonesty or is directly related to providing home medical equipment services.



(5) Gross negligence or gross misconduct in providing home medical equipment
services.

(6) Aiding, assisting, or willingly permitting another person to violate any provision
of this chapter or rule of the board.

(7) Failing, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request
of the board.

(8) Failing to cooperate with an inspection or with an investigation conducted by
the board.

(9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or unprofessional conduct of a character
likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.

(10) Denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of a license in another state or
jurisdiction to provide home medical equipment services for a reason other than
failure to renew the license.

(11} Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving from any person, partnership,
corporation, or other legal entity any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of
compensation for services not actually or personally rendered.

(12) Afinding that a licensee on probationary status has violated the terms of the
probation.

(13) Willfully making or filing false records, reports, or billings in the course of
providing home medical equipment services including, but not limited to, false
records, re-ports, or billings filed with state or federal agencies or departments.

(14) The use of any words, abbreviations, figures, or letters with the intention of
indicating practice as a home medical equipment services provider without having
first obtained a license from the board.

(15) Failure to comply with state or federal laws and regulations concerning home
medical equipment services providers.

(16) Solicitation of home medical equipment services using false or misleading
advertising.

(17} Failure to display a license in accordance with this chapter.

(18) Failure to report a change of name, address, control, ownership, or
administration to the board within 30 days after the date of change.



(f) When the board finds any person guilty of any of the grounds set forth in
subsection (e), the board may enter an order imposing one or more of the following
penalties:

(1) A letter of reprimand.

(2) Imposition of probation for a period of time and subject to such conditions as
may be prescribed by the board.

(3) Denial of an application for an initial or renewal license.

(4) Suspension of a license for a period of time established by the board, with or
without automatic reinstatement.

(5) Revocation of a license.

(6) Payment of restitution to each consumer negatively affected by the prohibited
act. Proof of such restitution shall be a signed and notarized release executed by the
consumer or the estate of the consumer.

(7) Assessment of the costs of the disciplinary proceedings.

(g) Failure to comply with any final order of the board is also cause for suspension
or revocation of a license. The board may suspend or revoke any license, which has
been issued based on false or fraudulent representations.

(h) The board may informally resolve any alleged violation of this chapter or rule of
the board by stipulation, agreed setttement, or consent order, in lieu of an
administrative hearing.

(i) Any entity or person found to be providing home medical equipment services
with-out a license as required by this chapter shall be subject to an administrative
fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) per day that services were provided
without a li-cense. Funds collected pursuant to this chapter shall be allocated to the
administration of the program.

(j) Any entity or person found to be providing home medical equipment services
with-out a license as required by this chapter may be administratively enjoined by
the board from providing services until such time as the entity or person complies
with this chapter.

(k) In addition to any other disciplinary action authorized by this chapter, the board
may levy and collect administrative fines for violations of this chapter or the rules or
standards of the board in an amount of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000)} for each
violation.



(1) Any person or entity violating this chapter, upon conviction, shall be guilty of a
Class A misdemeanor, and subject to fine or imprisonment, or both.

{m) Any entity or person subject to the penalties prescribed by subsections (i} and
(j) may pursue an appeal through the board according to rules promuigated by the
board.

(n) Any hearings related to matters before the board shall be conducted in
Montgomery County.

(o) In addition to any other penalty or disciplinary action authorized by this chapter,
the board may seek an injunction against any person or entity found in violation of
this chapter. In an action for an injunction, the board may demand and recover a
civil penalty of fifty dollars ($50) per day for each violation, reasonable attorney
fees, and court costs. No civil penalty shall be awarded to the board if an
administrative fine is assessed pursuant to subsection (i).

(p) Upon the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee shall imnmediately
surrender the license to the board, and if the licensee faiis to do so, the board may
seize the license.

(q) Any person aggrieved by an adverse action of the board may appeal the action to
the Circuit Court of Montgomery County in accordance with the Alabama
Administrative Procedure Act.

§ 34-14C-7. Home Medical Equipment Fund.

There is hereby established a separate special revenue trust fund in the State
Treasury to be known as the Home Medical Equipment Fund. All receipts collected
by the board under the provisions of this chapter are to be deposited into this fund
and shall be used only to carry out the provisions of this chapter. The receipts shall
be disbursed only by warrant of the state Comptroller upon the State Treasury,
upon itemized vouchers approved by the executive director. No funds shall be
withdrawn or ex-pended except as budgeted and allotted according to Sections 41-
4-80 to 41-4-96, inclusive, and 41-19-1 to 41-19-12, inclusive, and only in amounts
as stipulated in the general appropriations bill or other appropriations bills.

§ 34-14C-8. Sunset provision.

The board shall be subject to the Alabama Sunset Law as an enumerated agency as
provided in Section 41-20-3, and shall have a termination date of October 1, 2002,
and every four years thereafter, unless continued pursuant to the Alabama Sunset
Law.



